Daylight Saving Time – State Legislation

Lesson Duration

From The National Conference of State Legislatures

Each year, on the second Sunday in March, clocks are set forward by one hour in the United States as daylight saving time (DST) begins. On the first Sunday in November, clocks are turned back again to standard time, as DST ends.

Federal law allows a state to exempt itself from observing daylight saving time, upon action by the state legislature, but does not allow the permanent observance of DST.

State legislatures have introduced bills over the last several years to either have permanently standard time or permanent daylight saving time.

Provided here: Congressional update, background on the topic, state legislation overviews and summaries from 2019 to the present, and additional resources.



The National Conference of State Legislatures represents the legislatures in the states, territories and commonwealths of the U.S. Its mission is to advance the effectiveness, independence and integrity of legislatures and to foster interstate cooperation and facilitate the exchange of information among legislatures.